• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pittsburgh Penguins

Season preview from nhl.com

http://www.nhl.com/ice/news.htm?id=776928

With Kessel, Penguins primed for longer playoff run

The Pittsburgh Penguins' hopes of a deep run in the Stanley Cup Playoffs were undone by an uncharacteristically sluggish offense. General manager Jim Rutherford sought to rectify that during the offseason.
    After seeing several Penguins, including veteran defenseman Paul Martin, sign elsewhere shortly after free agency opened at noon on July 1, Pittsburgh made arguably the day's most explosive move when it acquired Toronto Maple Leafs forward Phil Kessel in a trade shortly before 2 p.m.
    After being eliminated in five games by the New York Rangers in the Eastern Conference First Round, Rutherford said he would bring in at least one top-six wing, most likely by trade, to help Sidney Crosby and Evgeni Malkin.
    "We set out this offseason to add some more skill on the wing, some more speed," Rutherford said. "I certainly think we covered that."
    Rutherford worked later in July to retool a bottom-six group that has been an Achilles heel since the Penguins last won the Stanley Cup in 2009.
    Forward Eric Fehr, who showcased his talent by scoring three goals in four games against the Penguins for the Washington Capitals last season, was signed to a three-year, $6 million contract on July 28.
    On the same day, Rutherford worked with the Vancouver Canucks on a trade that had been discussed since before the 2015 NHL Draft, acquiring forward Nick Bonino, defenseman Adam Clendening and a second-round pick at the 2016 draft from Vancouver for third-line center Brandon Sutter and a 2016 third-round pick.
    "There’s unfinished business," coach Barry Trotz said.

Crosby's window has definitely started to close. Sucks for him! Unfortunately for Islander fans it is not totally closed yet.

I see lots of potential and lots of questions here. The 2 biggest questions to me are: